Exercise: Eye contact and expression

I skipped the active portrait exercise in order to wait for the subject I wanted to photograph to be available. Coming into this exercise was quite a relief, as it played to my strengths and experience in this field before. I made a series on my digital camera on a white background flooded with window light. I overexposed slightly to create more of a fresh, richer looking series of portraits. I chatted to the subject and carefully managed the expression and eye contact.

The results were quite variable as you can see below, and I was happy with the shots. I did go against the tripod instruction and pulled back for more of the torso in some of the frames. This doesn’t lessen the impact of the facial expression for me, whereas a full body shot might have done.

DSC03403 DSC03411 DSC03414 DSC03415 DSC03420

Exercise: Eye contact and expression

Leave a Reply

